RSS

Reading and Writing and Football, oh my!

03 Sep

So, it’s Labor Day and that means summer is officially over. Well, actually summer ended Friday for me. SInce Saturday was the first official day of College Football in my world. And, as it should be, the University of Oregon Ducks kicked some ever lovin’ bootay on the field Saturday night.

Somebody asked me recently how college football season affects my writing. If you follow me on Facebook, you’ll know my world now revolves around the Ducks!
So what does happen to my writing? And what inspiration do I get, if any, from watching my beloved Ducks in action?

Most of you know by now that I work two jobs. One regular 8-5 and one evening job.So writing time is at a premium in my world anyway. But take away the three hours-ish every Saturday to watch the Ducks and you’d think I’d really be hurting, wouldn’t you?

Not so much. With even less time to write, I find that I’m actually more able to focus and get the words done when needed. Plus, there’s that drive to produce that comes on strong for me during the season. Yep, I know it’s corny, but I watch those kids leaving their hearts and souls on the field and, while I’m old and fat and not about to try my hand at the game, I’m able to feel the desire to do that on my playing field – the world of writing. I want to write the best book I’ve ever written. I want every word to evoke emotions in the reader. I want every reader to think, “That MJ Williamz is a lesfic genius!” LMAO!!! OK, OK, OK…so maybe that’s a bit extreme, but the desire to rise up and write better than ever really comes through for me during this time of year. It’s my competitive nature. And football season brings it out in me.

Now, what other sort of inspiration do I get from watching college football?

I’ll let y’all use your imaginations.

I hope you enjoyed this blog. Feel free to post any comments supporting your college team, or talking about what inspires you to be the best at what you do. I love comments and they’re always welcome.

GO DUCKS!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on September 3, 2012 in Writing

 

2 responses to “Reading and Writing and Football, oh my!

  1. linda

    September 19, 2012 at 13:19

    I’m a true cheerleader fan!!! Does that count?Enjoyed your blog and can’t wait to read your latest book.

     
    • mjwilliamz

      September 19, 2012 at 18:02

      Watching cheerleaders definitely counts!

       

Leave a Reply

 
