RSS

999 Words Left to Type

03 Jun

999 Words left to type

999 Words

I type a few down

And then sit around

999 words left to type.

That’s right, folks. I’m down to less than 1000 words left before I can write “The End” on this particular book. It’s working title is “Escapades” and I wrote most of it in the Fall, then took a break from it and have been finishing it up over the last month or so. It’s a fun book and I’ve really enjoyed writing it. For those of you who’ve read my other books, I’ll put this one in perspective by saying, it makes Forbidden Passions look chaste… :c)

So, how is it that I can write a book in a couple of months and then be stuck on the final few words for a month? I’m tres frustrated, to be honest with you. I just want to write a bang up, fireworks igniting, tender-yet-passionate love scene to end the book with. Is that too much to ask? Apparently so. Or at least my brain thinks it is. Or maybe I just think if I take my time writing it, the reader will think the characters are taking their time doing it? Hmmm… sounds like something I could rationalize…

Outside of the fact that I’m ending the book on a love scene, which we all know I have a hard time writing, I do believe there might be one other underlying factor in all of this… Radclyffe… :c)

Two weeks ago, I had the distinct pleasure of attending Saints and Sinners in New Orleans. It was an amazing experience. We got there late Thursday night and spent Friday playing tourists through the French Quarter. I was in Heaven!!! We went to Jackson Square (my favorite place on Earth, well close anyway… Top 3 for sure) and went into the St. Louis Cathedral. If you’ve read any of my vampire short stories, you know my vampires tend to live in the bell tower of the Cathedral.

We took a carriage ride around the French Quarter and then over to St Louis Cemetary #1, where we saw the tomb of the one and only MARIE LAVEAU!!! OMG!!!! It was a mind blowing experience for me. I worship the woman as many of you know. To be right there where she was buried was a spiritual experience to be sure. Not that her spirit is being particulary helpful in me finishing my book, but maybe I didn’t leave the right offering???

This brings us to Saturday. Saturday I attended a workshop put on by Radclyffe. It was all about Point of View. And during the presentation she pointed out one particular type of POV that you should never use for a romance novel. Well, guess what I immediately recognized as the POV I’m using for Escapades!!?!?!?!? Yep! GULP!

And then we got to the samples of writing each of us sent in for Rad to edit. She read over each one of them aloud and pointed out their shortcomings. Guess who’s sample was COVERED in red ink? Yep, yours truly! The surgeon had sliced and diced my bit to bits!

So, my writing ego is quite bruised. Although it really was a leanring experience. I mean that. I learned a whole heckuvalot from the master. But I find myself second guessing every word I write! I need to take what I’ve learned and apply it as I write rather than doubt as I go.

OK, so I feel better now. We’ve identified the problem and clearly it’s not simpy lack of ability on my part. :c) Rationalizing is such a good thing. I think I’m ready to move past the blockers and get this written now.

Thanks for helping me work through this!

 

 

 
14 Comments

Posted by on June 3, 2012 in Writing

 

14 responses to “999 Words Left to Type

  1. Laydin

    June 3, 2012 at 13:55

    Nice blog! But no more excuses…finish that book! , besides, all those samples wore plenty of red.

     
    • mjwilliamz

      June 3, 2012 at 14:05

      I hope to finish it today to be honest! Thanks!

       
  2. Carol

    June 4, 2012 at 02:54

    “I need to take what I’ve learned and apply it as I write rather than doubt as I go.”

    I love it. This is so true and I’m really glad your back at it.

     
    • mjwilliamz

      June 4, 2012 at 06:12

      Thanks, Carol. Easier said than done, to be sure. But I got the book finished, and that’s the main thing at this point.
      Thanks for taking the time to comment. It’s much appreciated!

       
  3. Denna

    June 4, 2012 at 06:48

    You’re a great writer MJ (including the love scenes) so don’t let a little red ink put you in a funk. We’ve all been there at one time or another. Looking forward to reading your latest work.

    PS my wife and I accidentally got locked in St. Louis Cemetery #1 when we visited NO back in the day. We look back and laugh now but at the time we were a bit freaked out.

     
    • mjwilliamz

      June 4, 2012 at 08:10

      Thanks for the pep talk, Denna. It’s hard not to let it get me down. But I need to learn from it and move on.
      As for being locked in the cemetery – that would be a bit freaky, even for me, I think! And I love graveyards! How did you get out?

       
      • Denna

        June 4, 2012 at 10:19

        We got locked in the cemetery with another couple from Houston so we weren’t alone. We made our way to the front gate where it was wrapped tight with a lock and chain. So we walked (very fast as I recall) together around the inside wall where we found a smaller crypt we could jump up on (I was praying it wouldnt collapse under our weight) and then climbed up onto the top of the wall. It was quite a jump down but nothing was going to stop us from getting out. I remember all four us sitting on top of the wall laughing. It’s a wonder they didn’t arrest us.

         
      • mjwilliamz

        June 4, 2012 at 12:59

        That’s a GREAT story! LOL!!!

         
  4. laycegardner

    June 4, 2012 at 16:28

    write first, edit second. Write first. edit second. I’m rooting for ya!

     
    • mjwilliamz

      June 4, 2012 at 16:32

      I soooo need to learn to do that, Layce. I tend to edit as I go. I need to get to the point where I just write and then go back, but I’ve yet to master it. You’re telling me it is possible tho, huh?

       
  5. Devlyn Sixtyseven

    June 4, 2012 at 19:31

    MJ you are a legend, thanks for writing this blog. Sounds like the NO visit may have loosened some cobwebs and you will be able to write THE ending now. Good Luck.

     
    • mjwilliamz

      June 4, 2012 at 19:33

      WOW! Thanks for the ego strokes! Much appreciated! I did manage to get The End written and I’m already in search of another topic to tackle. I’m thinking another tale from the 1800’s…

       
  6. Carsen Taite

    June 5, 2012 at 16:40

    I know that feeling – I had a lot of red ink on my work after the BSB writers’ retreat. It was both motivating and paralyzing. Glad you got past it. Hope you got to visit Mother’s in NOLA.

     
    • mjwilliamz

      June 7, 2012 at 15:33

      I have a hard time believing you would have any red on your work, Carsen!!!!

       

Leave a Reply

 
