RSS

Interviewing the Interviewer

28 Jan

Is there anybody out there who hasn’t watched one of Carsen Taite’s Vlogs? And don’t you love when she interviews authors? Well, have you ever wished someone would interview her? Wouldn’t you love to know her a little better? Well, here’s your chance! I had a little chit chat with Carsen recently. Here is our little Q & A:

When did you start writing?

Yesterday. Seriously, it feels like it was only yesterday. Actually, I’ve been writing in some form or another most of my life, but I started seriously writing a novel in 2007. That year I resolved to write a novel in a year. I wrote truelesbianlove.com and sent it off it off to Bold Strokes Books in the beginning of 2008. I’m working on novel number seven now.

Compare Lawyering (How can they tell me that’s not a real word? LOL) with writing and Carsen the writer and Carsen the Attorney.

Lawyering is definitely a real word. There’s lots of similarities between lawyering and writing fiction. Both professions require a lot of creativity, troubleshooting, and figuring out the best way to make a statement. Writing is definitely a more solitary pursuit, but when coupled with the opportunities to meet with readers and other writers, I’d have to say it’s my favorite.

Favorite toy from childhood.

I wore the fur off my teddy bear.

Favorite toy now (You don’t have to answer… LOL)

I refuse to answer on the grounds that… well, you get the point.

Favorite book you ever read and why?

I’ve read so many good books, but forced to choose a favorite, I pick The Intersection Between Law and Desire, by J.M. Redmann. This book handles a harsh subject matter and it’s done in a way that’s both sensitive but doesn’t shy away from the tough stuff. Besides, Redmann is one of my favorite authors.

Favorite character you ever read and why?

Private investigator Micky Knight, from J.M. Redmann’s mysteries. She’s tough as nails, but full of sensitivity. She has a complex past, but simple needs. You want to hug her and throttle her, both at the same time. She’s the perfect balance.

Favorite book you wrote and why?

It Should be a Crime because it was the first time I let Carsen the writer and Carsen the lawyer work together on a project and I’m proud of how it turned out.

Favorite character you wrote and why?

I like the rogues, so I’m going to pick Jordan from truelesbianlove.com. Skye from It Should be a Crime and The Best Defense runs a close second. It’s fun to watch the players fall in love.

Would you ever venture into erotica or spec fic or paranormal? Why or why not?

Sure, if I had a good story idea that fit into one of those genres, I’d be willing to give it a go. I’m working on a horror story now for an upcoming anthology – kind of a Hitchcockian tale.

Most romantic thing you’ve ever done?

Lainey says that bringing her coffee in bed tops the list.

Most romantic thing anyone’s ever done for you?

Tell me to follow my dreams, no matter how much it might disrupt the status quo, and stand beside me every step of the way. Thanks, Lainey.

Summer or winter?

Summer. I’d rather take clothes off than put them on.

Beach or mountain?

Love them both, but I’d probably have to choose mountain. I like the perspective up there.

Morning or night?

I peak at mid-day, so I guess that means neither J

What is a goal you’ve set for yourself that you’ve yet to accomplish?

I can think of lots. Run a 5K, learn to play the guitar, become a gourmet chef, write as many books as Radclyffe. I better live a long time.

 

Thank you Carsen for taking the time for this interview. I (and I’m sure many others) appreciate a little insight into who you are.

 
9 Comments

Posted by on January 28, 2012 in Writing

 

9 responses to “Interviewing the Interviewer

  1. D. Jackson Leigh

    January 28, 2012 at 12:36

    Leave it to a lawyer to have the perfect answer to every question. Love ya, counselor. Thanks for this interview, MJ. A really good look into the sharp mind of Carsen Taite. You must have interviewed her midday. 🙂

     
    • mjwilliamz

      January 28, 2012 at 12:38

      I had to catch her as she peaked 😀

       
  2. Laydin Michaels

    January 28, 2012 at 13:09

    Nice interview! Two of my favorite writers conversing. I like it!

     
    • mjwilliamz

      January 28, 2012 at 13:14

      Thanks, Laydin! I’m glad you enjoyed it

       
  3. carrie

    January 28, 2012 at 15:56

    Great interview, Mj. Nice to see Carsen under the microscope for a change 🙂

     
    • mjwilliamz

      January 28, 2012 at 16:01

      Thanks, Carrie. I agree – it was time we got to hear from her.

       
  4. Devlyn Sixtyseven

    January 28, 2012 at 18:20

    You both must have had a lot of fun doing this. Isn’t it great when two of my fav authors get together. Thanks for the laughs and insight.

     
    • mjwilliamz

      January 28, 2012 at 23:27

      I’m really glad you enjoyed it, Dev. Carsen is a real treat.

       
  5. Elaine Lynchly

    December 6, 2012 at 07:27

    FUN!

     

Leave a Reply

 
