RSS

How far is too far?

30 Jun

Let’s talk about sex —- again!  Recently, we discussed whether or not a book could have too much sex in it. So today we’re going to talk about how far a book can move away from the usual vanilla, fingers and tongues in the usual orifices sex, and still be within your comfort level. In other words, how far out of the norm can they go before you close the book and say, “Nuh-uh. Not for me.”?

I’m not talking whips and chains or anything too out there. I would just like to know from you when sex changes from hot to not cool. Conversely, do you find that sex in general in lesbian literature is too vanilla? Would you like to see more kink? And if so, what kind? I’d really like to have an open discussion, although I realize this is kind of a personal topic, so if you don’t want to reply, that’s cool. If you do have thoughts or opinions and  don’t mind sharing them, I’d love to hear from you. As usual, I’d like to hear from readers and authors. Authors – do you ever step out of your comfort zone when writing sex scenes? This could be a fun discussion if anybody’s not too shy to post!

I’m including some scenes from recent books of mine… One from Forbidden Passions, two from Initiation by Desire and one from a current work. I’d like to know which is your favorite, please. WARNING don’t read any further if you’re not into hot sex or are easily offended by language.

One example:

Corrine drove four fingers inside the hot cunt and twisted them around before taking them out again. Once more, she pushed into her and left them in, thrusting harder and harder with each stroke.

Corrine slid her wet hand out and moved between Catherine’s legs.

“Hold your knees back.”

Catherine grabbed her knees and pulled them back. Corrine slipped her whole hand inside the gaping cunt. She made a fist and inserted it deep inside Catherine.

“Oh, fuck! That feels good!”

She buried her arm past her wrist and twisted it again. The tight walls were pressing in on her, crushing her hand, but she knew the pressure she was giving was much stronger. She continued to gently punch Catherine’s internal pleasure zone over and over until her juices were running down her arm.

Another example:

Sue Dobson strained against the black silk scarves that bound her to the bedposts. Her head thrashed wildly on the steel gray pillow as her hips rose to greet each thrust of the nine-inch latex cock being drilled into her.

Another example:

She fastened nipple clamps on Sue then placed the chain that ran between them in her mouth. As Nema’s mouth worked its magic on Sue’s cunt and Sue’s head thrashed as she closed in on her orgasm, the chain tightened the clamps, sending white heat of painful pleasure to her core.

Last example:

Joey just smiled and unwrapped a toy from its cloth confines. It was thick and black and phallic shaped with a thinner, beaded protrusion as well. She flipped open the lube and poured generous amounts on it.

She placed the tip of the toy against Tiffany’s clit and rubbed.

“Oh my God that feels good.” Tiffany tried to arch her hips to get more pressure.

Joey moved the toy lower and placed the large tip just inside Tiffany. She slowly pressed onward it until it filled her.

“How big is that?” Tiffany asked.

“You tell me.”

“It feels huge.”

“Do you need more?”

“Not at the moment.”

Joey withdrew the toy until just the tip was inside, then pushed it to its base again. She was dripping watching Tiffany’s cunt swallow the oversized dildo. She withdrew the whole toy, then poured more lube on the beaded area.

“Why’d you stop?”

Joey didn’t answer as she lined up the toy and buried the dildo again while slowly penetrating her other hole.

“Holy fuck!” Tiffany exclaimed. “Oh yes, Joey. Fuck me harder. Give me more. Please?”

Joey slid both parts in slowly until neither was visible. She pulled them out slowly and moved them back inside.

Thanks for playing!

 
17 Comments

Posted by on June 30, 2011 in Writing

 

17 responses to “How far is too far?

  1. Nadine LaPierre

    June 30, 2011 at 10:34

    This might sound bizarre, since I do write sex scenes in my books, but I find myself almost always skipping sex scenes when I read a novel. The reason being, because it rarely propels the plot. Often it happens too soon, or is just stuck in there for the sake of having a sex scene. I have two scenes in my first book, The Slayer. The first is meant to show how a bad sexual experience is powerful enough to extinquish years of longing for an old flame, and the second scene is somewhat the opposite. It’s meant to show that when two people really are meant for each other that no thinking or purposeful planning (first I’ll touch her here, then go there…) is required, and that it all happens so naturally and powerfully, that the experience actually changes them in ways they never expected.

    Everyone’s got a different style (I mean writing. lol), but for me, I personally enjoy books where there is a psychological component leading up to the sexual experience. I like to have my emotions engaged first, whether I’m being overtly seduced or not even aware that I’m starting to tingle when a particular character enters a scene. I find scenes where a character walks into a bar or a room and ten minutes later they’re doing it in the corner or the bathroom… well, let’s just say, those are the scenes I usually skip.

    I was trying to write a kinky sex scene once where the characters like rough sex. That’s not my thing personally in real life, and no matter how much I researched it, I just could not relate to it, and it totally showed. The scene was awful. Probably the worst piece of writing I’ve done. So I ended up replacing the scene with one line:
    “…with cold ice cubes and hot candle wax they brought each other’s arousal up to great heights, then forced that arousal to remain sustained without reaching climax until one decided it was time for the other to be finally sated.”

    So yes, absolutely, as a writer I have discovered I have limitations and don’t enjoy going out of my comfort zone when it comes to sex scenes. In my case at least, I need to understand someone’s motives for sex beyond the purely physical for it to make sense in my writing.

     
  2. mjwilliamz

    June 30, 2011 at 10:48

    Gotta love ice cubes and wax! I love that blurb you shared – very nice…
    I agree in a romance that there’s got to be some build up. I don’t like woman meets woman and that’s it. However, in my erotic novels, I give myself a little lee way. Often the MC will have sex with others before she finally realizes she’s in love with someone else. The casual sex tends to be done one way, while there’s tension and build up to when the MC’s finally get together. Does that make sense?

     
  3. Bec Champion

    June 30, 2011 at 10:56

    As a general rule I think that most erotic books are pretty vanilla. Change the character and you could say you were reading another book. I like reality, there is way more to life than the vanilla package. All four of the above excerpts are wonderful, I don’t know that I would pick a favorite. Each one explores different avenues and certainly adds more reality. As far as what is too much, well there are many fetishes out there that I really don’t care to read about. such as urolagnia, zoophilia, or autonepiophilia. I think if you keep it within the “normal” range all is fair in love and sex. Toys and ties are either a part of life or a part of a fantasy.

     
    • mjwilliamz

      June 30, 2011 at 11:06

      Thanks, Bec! I’m glad you enjoyed the blurbs. And yeah, there are definitely some fetishes I wouldn’t want to read about, either. I think mine are very realistic, too. I don’t think they’re too far out of the norm, but I always enjoy reader feedback.

       
  4. Lara

    June 30, 2011 at 12:02

    Probably because these scenes are out of context, but I had to force myself to read past lines 3/4 in any of them. Reason: no emotional resonance between the characters. And in the third one, the POV is all wrong; I keep wanting to know what’s going through the mind of the woman receiving, not just watching. Diff’rent strokes for diff’rent folks and all that, I’m sure, MJ, but that’s my opinion. I don’t mind non-vanilla sex, but I dislike disconnective wording, such as (in your first example) “the hot cunt.” It’s not a “the”, it’s hers, belongs to her, the woman she’s loving. A small article to be sure, but important to create emotional resonance. This is all IMHO, YMMV.

     
  5. mjwilliamz

    June 30, 2011 at 12:11

    In the first scene, the woman is having sex with a prostitute, so I tried to impersonalize it as much as possible. But that’s right – you wouldn’t know that from the short excerpt. :c)
    Thanks for jumping in to the convo – I always enjoy your POV

     
  6. Allie

    June 30, 2011 at 15:48

    ….so then i had to go look up those fetishes. and now my google auto-fill is all weirded out. when do i stop reading? if i don’t like the characters, the graphic descriptions of sex (any kind of sex) don’t do anything for me and i’ll usually stop reading. as for how kinky or “out there” sex has to be before i stop reading? pretty darn far. there’s a whole lot of stuff i read about that i’d never consider doing (not that i’m totally vanilla, but i draw the line at pain or blood), but if fits in the story and is appropriate to the characters then i find it helps define them in a way.

     
    • mjwilliamz

      June 30, 2011 at 16:16

      Thanks, Allie. I agree – I don’t live a jet-set lifestyle, but that doesn’t mean I don’t enjoy a story about a wealthy woman. So just cuz maybe I don’t engage in a certain type of sex play doesn’t mean I won’t read about it. And I firmly believe different sexual activities one portrays the MC engaging in most definitely helps define the character

       
  7. Patty G. Henderson

    June 30, 2011 at 16:41

    No sex, darkling, but then you and most everyone in the community knows how I feel about sex in a genre novel. But I’m not sure if you’re asking about sex in an erotica novel or romance novel or another genre novel.

    If a genre novel, no sex whatsoever. I can’t imagine any mystery, horror, fantasy or sf story needing an in-depth, graphic and explicit sex scene in it, to be frank. If a romance, I prefer off page sex. Nice kissing and teasing, but for sex, take into the bedroom. Again, do you really need explicit sex in a romance? I’m not convinced.

    That’s why there is a category for erotica…..LOL.

     
  8. mjwilliamz

    June 30, 2011 at 16:45

    Ah… mi diosa oscura-
    Thank you so much for your comments. You know I agree with you in mysteries, etc. I’d rather the story not be broken up with either romance or sex, but we’re in the minority… I was speaking more of erotica novels and yes – that’s why I write them – to fit a niche, or at least that’s what I hope to do.

     
    • Patty G. Henderson

      June 30, 2011 at 21:51

      And I think you will do fabulously writing erotica, even though you are a fine writer of dark fiction, as well. But you already know that…..

      Much success with your erotica writings.

      Sola tuja Diosa Oscura

       
      • mjwilliamz

        July 1, 2011 at 09:13

        I have not given up dark fiction, My Dark Mistress. That is still my first love. But while those take time, it seems like erotica is a good way to keep my name out there, ya know?

         
  9. Judy

    June 30, 2011 at 18:32

    Sorry MJ, but I’m now avoiding these graphic sex scenes.
    Now that we have so many books and authors, they are just getting silly and certainly are no longer a turn on, for me.
    To each his own, but I prefer a scene of two, perhaps, and a story throughout the rest of the novel.
    I’ve even started skipping over those parts in the round robins.
    Guess I’m getting old.

     
    • mjwilliamz

      July 1, 2011 at 09:14

      That’s right, to each her own. If it’s not your cup of tea, then it’s not your cup of tea. I’m sure there are plenty of books out there that you can still enjoy, so please keep reading!

       
  10. ~Sea

    July 1, 2011 at 06:05

    MJ 🙂

    KUDOS …You did a good job with these. I read them all.

    I wish you much success with your erotica writings!

     
    • mjwilliamz

      July 1, 2011 at 09:14

      Thanks! So far I’m really enjoying it! I’m glad you liked the excerpts ;c)

       
  11. Carol

    July 1, 2011 at 16:35

    Interesting discussion MJ.
    I have never skipped a sex scene when reading lesbian erotica or romance. In my opinion, no sex scene is too graphic or ‘out there’ as long as the participants are consenting adults.
    I’m not saying I personally enjoy some of that type of sex, but I have no opposition to reading about it.

    I have to say that even when I read mysteries I enjoy some sex scenes. Being a hopeless romantic, I enjoy the lovey-dovey stuff in mysteries, actions, si-fi, erotica, romance novels…everywhere I guess.

    As far as my writing is concerned, I have only just begun to explore the challenges of presenting a sexual encounter on the written page.

    Thanks for the excerpts. You’re good.

     

Leave a Reply

 
