RSS

Sex

05 Apr

Fellow author RE Bradshaw recently posted a blog asking “How much sex is enough?” You can check out her blog here:

http://rebradshawbooks.blogspot.com/2011/04/age-old-question-how-much-sex-is-enough.html

Decky posted about her blog in the Virtual Living Room:

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Virtuallivingroom/

And it’s started a lively discussion. Another author buddy, Jeanine Hoffman asked, “How graphic is too graphic?”

This all got me thinking – is there any such thing as too much sex? Obviously, this is a matter of preference. One reader, Kaysi posted on my Facebook page, “filler words are good too but we all know it’s the creamy center thats the best!” :c)

Others actually skip sex in books… which means they essentially wouldn’t bother to buy Forbidden Passions if it came out cuz it’s all about Katie and Corrine and their intimacy. If that book is published, it will be under the “HeatStroke” imprint which is BSB’s erotic line.

I’ve had close to twenty erotic short stories published and erotic anthologies seem to be popular. But do you enjoy novels that are mostly sex? Let me hear from you. Is there such a thing as too much sex? Or are the other words truly filler and you really enjoy the sex scenes?

Most people seem to enjoy the “naughty bits” I post on my Facebook page, but would that enjoyment extend to a book full of them?

Personally, I feel that there’s a time to fade to black and a time for play-by-play, but I’m looking for feedback – can a book have too much sex? What say you?

 
12 Comments

Posted by on April 5, 2011 in Writing

 

12 responses to “Sex

  1. DAWN SALISBURY

    April 5, 2011 at 11:38

    To me it depends. First off, if the book is all about sex and I know that beforehand…….I know it’s all about sex. If the sex is a secondary part of the book I want a GOOD STORY first and foremost, then the sex as an added cherry on top. Ever think of writing about multiple partners?

     
    • mjwilliamz

      April 5, 2011 at 11:43

      Thanks for posting, Dawn. I’ve actually had a short story published that involved more than one partner…

       
  2. Kara

    April 5, 2011 at 12:43

    Well, this shouldn’t surprise you too much coming from me…but I love erotica novels! I really love when an author has taken the time to make a whole story for the characters that I am reading about and also getting hot with! It’s the best kind of writing in my opinion…as long as it is good writing and decent editing…then I could read these kind of books all the time…and would; given the money. Don’t get me wrong, I don’t think I would give up regular lesfic but if you write an erotic novel for lesbians….say maybe a hot butch/femme couple and throw in a few little kinks…..you would have my ultimate erotic novel and I would read that every time it came out with whatever changes in character ands such!
    Hope this helps and is what you were looking for MJ!
    Take care hon and big hugs, k

     
    • mjwilliamz

      April 5, 2011 at 12:53

      Thanks, Kara! I love how into erotica you are – and knowing there are readers like you out there makes it all worthwhile.

       
  3. Jeanine Hoffman

    April 5, 2011 at 16:03

    Well, you know my thoughts on it. If it is pertinent to the story somehow, then sure. But what I REALLY want-is story. I want great characters, great dialogue, and a worthy plot line. I get tired of reading the same words used over and over to describe sex scenes and genitalia. Maybe its because I read A LOT of books in my quest to learn more about craft. I don’t know. I read some of the scenes by certain authors to learn newer ways to write but overall-I don’t care how you show the intimacy=as long as it shows it!

     
    • mjwilliamz

      April 5, 2011 at 16:14

      Yo Buddy!!! Thanks for stopping by. I know what you’re saying – the story is key.

       
  4. Dianne

    April 5, 2011 at 16:47

    I love a great love story. Some authors only touch on the subject which can be sexy… but I like it when you know it’s coming and BOOM. there it is. Knowing what each one does to please the other only gives me more ideas for my own sex life with my wife. So I can truly say…
    MORE THE BETTER!!!

     
    • mjwilliamz

      April 5, 2011 at 16:49

      Excellent Dianne! I love when people take what they’ve read in my stuff and put it to good use ;c)

       
  5. Joy Argento

    April 6, 2011 at 06:01

    I like the romance and tention that builds up and leads to the sex. If if fades to black just when it gets interested I feel cheated.

     
    • mjwilliamz

      April 6, 2011 at 08:47

      Joy – writing the tension leading up to the act is actually my favorite part of writing

       
  6. Judy

    April 6, 2011 at 08:27

    There can be too much sex for me. If handled delicately and with great skill, I find it favorable. However, in recent years it seems to me, it comes because the author feels it is expected so they will deliver.
    If you read many books , just how many ways and words can describe the act. The rather untalented author seems to mimic her sisters and we get virtually the same act in 25 different books. Same words, same bites, same sensations….it does get a little boring to me.

     
    • mjwilliamz

      April 6, 2011 at 08:49

      That’s an interesting observation, Judy. So it’s not necessarily the sex in the book that’s the issue, rather that it’s the same sex in all the books?

       

Leave a Reply

 
