RSS

In Search of a Title

07 Mar

Naming a book is such a challenge for me. My current work grew from a potential title, however. One day, “Tender Passion” came to me and I thought “I’ve got to write a book for that.” And I felt the Civil War would be the perfect era for this.

But now, I’m not so in love with the name. So far the passion that has raged on the pages has been anything but tender. Not that I’m complaining. Also, I have a friend who insists that Tender Passion sounds like someone has an unhealthy thing for chicken snacks. So it’s kind of hard for me to take seriously.

For those of you who don’t know, my book is about a thirty-seven-year-old woman who goes to stay with her best friend after her friend’s husband dies in the Civil War. Sounds simple enough, right? Well, add to that Katie, the nineteen year old daughter of said friend who is drop dead gorgeous, headstrong, and darned near impossible to ignore – either physically, mentally, or emotionally.

So sure, Corrine Staples(visitor) is attracted to Katie. And Katie is very attracted to Corrine. Bear in mind, whatever Katie wants, Katie gets. However, Corrine is obviously hesitant to pursue anything – this is her best friend’s daughter!

But if I change the title, what would I change it to? Some of these may sound familiar:

  • Three’s Company
  • Full House
  • Family Ties
  • Family Matters
  • Southern Comfort
  • Katie’s Playhouse
  • Inspect Her Gadget (One of my favorites)
  • Happy Days
  • The Facts of Life
  • Diff’rent Strokes (But of course!)
  • Civil Disobedience
  • Sugarcane and able (another favorite)

Or then there’s:

  • Plantation Passion
  • Forbidden Desire
  • Hidden Love
  • Staples Gets Nailed
  • A House Divided
  • Sense and Sensuality
  • Emancipation
  • Secret Seductions
  • Surviving Katie
  • Keeping Secrets
  • Deceptions
  • New Orleans Sweet Tease

LMAO! OK – so you can see that I’m having a little fun with this. And I hope you at least smiled at some of these. Of course, I’m really no closer to deciding on a title, but it was fun sharing!

 

 
12 Comments

Posted by on March 7, 2011 in Writing

 

12 responses to “In Search of a Title

  1. carriecarr

    March 7, 2011 at 12:47

    “Inspect Her Gadget” ? LOL!

    I know what you mean, though. Sometimes, a title can be there just fine. Others, well…nothing worse than trying to sell a book to a publisher as “To be Titled Later”.

    Good luck!

     
    • mjwilliamz

      March 7, 2011 at 12:54

      Isn’t that a great title? LOL
      I so want the perfect title. I want the publisher to fall in love with the title and maybe not notice if the story is subpar! LOL

       
  2. R. E. "Decky" Bradshaw

    March 7, 2011 at 13:11

    Must be something about Civil War novels. I have re-titled the one I’m writing, about a family memeber’s escapades during Sherman’s occupation of Goldsborough, NC (spelled Goldsboro now) in April of 1865, at least 6 times and still haven’t finished writing it yet. LOL I’m sure I re-title it many more times before I finish it. Good luck settling on just one!

     
  3. PJ Trebelhorn

    March 7, 2011 at 13:35

    I chuckled at more than a couple of those possible titles, MJ. I’m kind of liking “Forbidden Desire” though. Very intriguing.

     
    • mjwilliamz

      March 7, 2011 at 14:35

      Yo PJ! Whasssup!!!!??
      I’m glad you found humor in some of those titles- I was having a good time with them.
      I have to agree – Forbidden Desire is on the top of my list.. however I’ve been told it’s very “Harlequin Romance.”

       
  4. carriecarr

    March 7, 2011 at 15:01

    Harlequin, eh? As long as there’s a scantily-clad lady on the cover, does it matter? LOL!

     
    • mjwilliamz

      March 7, 2011 at 15:05

      Oooh- scantily clad Civil War woman in a Corset?!!? Should I email the cover artist now?

       
  5. Isabella

    March 7, 2011 at 15:05

    I’m in the middle of two novels and the titles just aren’t coming yet. So best of luck with that. Always Faithful just kinda named itself. Have you seen the cover yet? If so maybe that can help/

     
  6. mjwilliamz

    March 7, 2011 at 15:08

    I’m hoping this one will name itself somewhere along the way, as well. I have a long way to go still

     
  7. Nora Olsen

    March 8, 2011 at 14:25

    Inspect Her Gadget is seriously funny. Okay, maybe a little anachronistic, but laugh out loud funny.

     
    • mjwilliamz

      March 8, 2011 at 14:38

      I’m glad it made you laugh – I enjoyed coming up with the list. And I am serious when I say – I do hope to use that as the name for a short story somewhere… LOL

       

Leave a Reply

 
